Bison, Wheat and the Wind in My Hair

I’m excited, really excited. Okay so I get excited easily, but a friend and I are heading up island to pick up some pasture fed bison products and on the way back we’re stopping in at Sloping Hill Farm.

I met the owner, Bea Graf, at Seedy Sunday over a bag of Island grown and milled hard wheat. That’s right, her and her partner grow wheat and other grains at their farm in Qualicum Beach.

Tomorrow I am interviewing Bea and Dirk, getting pictures and finding out how they continuously produce high quality delicious foods. I might even find out the romance of farming together!

This interview is only one of many, Lorraine Browne and I have been conducting over the past year in our quest to discover the secrets, romance, recipes and dirt on farming the Island.

The book contains recipes from chefs like Bill Jones and Don Genova, as well as a resource guide of farmers’ markets, farms and food producers and the stories that make our Island farmers some of the best and most innovative in BC.

So yes, I’m excited. Tomorrow I get to talk food and farming! Want to find out about Sloping Hill Farm? Subscribe to this blog and you’ll get the post about my visit! I may even include a recipe!

Leave a comment