Obsessed

Obsession #1

Okay, I thought I was obsessed about dogs, but I have to admit there is another obsession that seems to be growing stronger with the longer days and warmer sun…gardening.

Could it be the feel-good microbes in the soil? The need for frugality? The passion for being part of the global solution to climate change and destruction of biodiversity?

Maybe all of the above.

When I first read about the Dervaes family in Mother Earth News it started me thinking about our own piece of city property. Since then we have created raised beds, planted fruit trees, recycled building material for more vertical space and created a soil management program that includes chickens and straw.

Today a 2008 interview with the head of the family showed up on Facebook. I am re-inspired. I am adding a border of chives to my driveway, digging up more lawn and guilding my backyard to direct water flow for growing watercress.

When John and I met, almost 28 years ago both of us were interested in self sufficiency, each of us owning several how-to guides on getting off the grid.

We still hold true to that lofty goal. We may never attain it completely but my goodness, we’ll give a good try!

Enjoy….

Leave a comment